Offshore wind lease moratorium

Offshore wind lease moratorium

October 09, 2020 | By Keith Martin in Washington, DC

No new offshore wind leases will be issued by the US government for the area off North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida for a 10-year period starting July 1, 2022.

The moratorium does not affect offshore wind development in areas that have already been leased.

President Trump imposed it in a memorandum to the US Interior secretary on September 25. The moratorium bars any new federal leases for “exploration, development or production” — including production of oil and gas and electricity generation — in federal waters off the four states. The US claims jurisdiction out 200 miles to sea. The moratorium would apparently also apply to leases for use of underwater turbines.

Trump said at a campaign rally at the Newport News airport later on September 25 that he plans to extend the moratorium to the area off Virginia.