April 10, 2010 | By Keith Martin in Washington, DC
Wyoming will start collecting an excise tax of $1 a megawatt hour from wind generators in the state. The tax will apply to electricity generated after 2011. It will apply on a turbine-by-turbine basis, but will not be collected until the turbine has been in use for at least three years.
The state legislature debated setting the tax at anywhere from a penny to $5 a mWh before settling on $1. It delayed the effective date to allow time to study the potential effect on the wind industry.